National Liturgical Council

Executive Secretary: Dr Paul Taylor

Postal Deliveries: c/o ACBC Secretariat
GPO 368, Canberra ACT 2601

T: 0400 830 929

Bishops' Delegates

  • Bishop Paul Bird, CSsR
  • Bishop Ken Howell
  • Archbishop Patrick O'Regan (Chairman)

Bishops Commission for Liturgy

The National Liturgical Council is an advisory body established by the Australian Catholic Bishops under provisions 4.3 and 5.1 of the Mandate of the Bishops Commission for Liturgy for the purpose of advising the Commission on matters pertaining to Catholic liturgical worship.  Members of the National Liturgical Council are appointed for 3 year terms.

National Liturgical Council Members

  • Rev. Laurence Cortez, PP
  • Sr Louise Gannon RSJ
  • Mrs Angela Gorman
  • Rev. Dr Stephen Hackett, MSC
  • Dr Jason McFarland
  • Mrs Sophy Morley
  • Mrs Cathy Murrowood
  • Mrs Clare Schwantes (Chair)
  • Dr Paul Taylor (Executive Secretary)

National Liturgical Council Liturgical Consultants

  • Rev Dr David Orr OSB (Senior Consultant)
  • Sr Kerry Willison RSM (Senior Consultant)
  • Ms Denise Braddon
  • Rev Dr Barry Craig PP
  • Rev Dr Tom Elich PP
  • Rev John Fitz-Herbert
  • Sr Judy Foster SGS
  • Dr William Griffiths
  • Mrs Elizabeth Harrington
  • Ms Kathy Horan
  • Prof. Clare Johnson
  • Mr Paul Mason
  • Dr Jason McFarland
  • Mr Michael McKenna KCHS
  • Fr Brian Nichols PP
  • Dr Jenny O’Brien
  • Rev Dr Frank O’Loughlin PP
  • Sr Ursula O’Rourke, SGS
  • Dr Carmel Pilcher RSJ
  • Rev Don Richardson Adm
  • Dr Margaret Smith SGS
  • Rev Dr Christopher Willcock SJ
  • Very Rev Peter G. Williams VG
  • Dr Geoffrey Cox (Music Consultant)
  • Dr William Griffiths (Music Consultant)
  • Mr Bernard Kirkpatrick (Music Consultant)


Recent Liturgical Documents From The Vatican

National Liturgical Documents For Australia

Australian Consultation On Liturgy (ACOL)


Weekly Liturgical Celebrations

Annual Liturgical Celebrations

Diocesan Liturgical Commissions

Various Liturgical Commentaries

Liturgical Ministries

The Good We Rarely Tell Anyone

  • There are 1,321 parishes in Australia, including 29 belonging to Eastern Catholic Churches, serving 5.2 million Catholics of which 624,000 worship every Sunday (c. 12%), which means we could fill the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) seven times every Sunday with Mass going Catholics! Of this group, 94,150 of these Mass-goers are aged between 13 and 18.
  • Worldwide numbers are booming

Source: Fr Richard Leonard SJ, Director of the Australian Catholic Office for Film & Broadcasting

Useful Links

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference:  Child Protection Sunday (PDF)

Diocesan Liturgical Contacts (Commissions, Offices, Personnel) (updated July. 2021) (PDF)

Catholic Liturgy Websites in Australia  (March 2017) (PDF)
The attached document contains a listing of liturgical resources on various Catholic liturgy websites around Australia.

Local Liturgical Council, Commissions and Offices

International Liturgical Bodies and Offices

Liturgy & Copyright Information

Click here for information on liturgy and copyright 

Mass for the Fallen
by Christopher Willcock SJ

Click here to visit the website


Online and off line payment options
Major credit cards accepted

GPO Box 368
Canberra ACT 2601

1300 4FAITH (1300 432 484)
Catholic Enquiry Centre

Back to top