Biography of National Liturgical Music Council Members

Andrew CichyAndrew Cichy (BCom, BMus [Hons] [UWA], MStMusic, DPhil [Oxford]) is an organist and musicologist whose published research interests include liturgical music theory and practice and organ music before 1750. As a Clarendon Scholar at Merton College, Andrew researched English Catholic music from the Reformation to 1700, focusing on English institutions in continental Europe. During this time, he continued his studies in organ playing and choral conducting. From 2013 to 2014, he undertook postdoctoral studies in Bremen, Germany. After working as an academic at ANU, Andrew is now Director of Music at St Stephen’s Cathedral, Brisbane.

Fiona DyballFiona Dyball has worked extensively in Youth Ministry with the Marist Brothers and in Music Ministry, inspired by her mentor, Sr Deirdre Brown IBVM. Fiona is currently a member of the Marist National Formation Team and has tertiary qualifications from Australia and the US in music performance and choral conducting, music therapy, secondary education, religious education, and theology. Fiona has travelled extensively, working and praying with diverse communities in South Africa, East Timor, the United States, Europe, the Middle East, and around Australia. She is the only Australian to be invited to teach at David Haas’ pastoral musicians camp, Music Ministry Alive, held each year in Minnesota, USA.

Jacinta JakovcevicJacinta Jakovcevic [BMus(Hons), LRSM, LMusA, DipABRSM, ATCL] began her musical career in the church at a very young age and in conjunction with her work in church music gained extensive experience as a musician taking part in ABC broadcasts and working with organisations including the West Australian Symphony Orchestra (WASO), Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA), the University of Western Australia. Jacinta is Director of Music at St Mary's Cathedral in Perth where she combines her great loves of liturgy and music together with her keen interest in choral music, music administration and the development of young musicians.

Clare JohnsonClare V. Johnson [B.Mus (Hons), B. Theol (Hons), A.Mus.A., M.A. (Theol), GCHE, Ph.D.] is Director of the ACU Centre for Liturgy and Professor of Liturgical Studies and Sacramental Theology at ACU (NSW). Clare has taught liturgy, sacraments, preaching, liturgical music and introductory theology at University of Notre Dame (USA), Michigan State University (USA), UNDA (Fremantle) and ACU, receiving several teaching awards. She has published widely in liturgy, liturgical music, ritual studies, liturgical theology and liturgical inculturation. Clare chairs the National Liturgical Music Board and is a member of the National Liturgical Council. She holds a Mandatum to teach Catholic theology.

Paul MasonPaul Mason [B.E. (Elec), M.A. (Theol), M.A. (Liturgy)] is Coordinator of Liturgy for the Catholic Diocese of Wollongong and Consultant to the National Liturgical Council. Paul chaired the Australian Pastoral Musicians Network 2012-2015 and was a member of the New Music Sub-Committee of the National Liturgical Music Board. He has published liturgical music through Willow, Morning Star and Liturgical Song, and articles through Worship, Australian Journal of Liturgy, Australian eJournal of Theology, Liturgy News and Summit. Paul held marketing and general management positions in the information technology industry (1976-2004) and was pastoral associate at a Sydney parish (2004-2011).

Donrita ReefmanDonrita Reefman (MA Liturgy) has worked in parish music ministry for almost all her life.  Before she moved to rural Victoria in late 2014, Donrita served in several roles on the Broken Bay Diocese Liturgy Commission. She was also Director of Music in the new cathedral, and worked with many other parish choirs in the diocese. Donrita has also long championed the liturgical music of Colin Smith cfc. Since 2014 Donrita has established and directed the St Mary’s Bairnsdale Choir and has been elected chair of the Victorian RSCM branch. Currently Donrita works as Mission Coordinator at St Francis’ Lonsdale Street, Melbourne.

Paul TaylorPaul Taylor (MA [Notre Dame, IN], MMus, PhD [ACU]) is Executive Secretary of the ACBC Bishops Commission for Liturgy and the National Liturgical Council. He has served in Archdiocesan agencies as a liturgist and musician since 1993, working as a singer and organist at St Brendan’s, Flemington, St Francis’ Church and St Patrick’s Cathedral. His doctoral dissertation explored the ministerial and congregational singing of chant. Paul’s professional responsibilities include organ accompaniment and liturgical singing, editing and publishing. Most recently he served on the editorial committee of Catholic Worship Book II (2016).

Anthony YoungAnthony Young (BA, LlB, MSt, PhD) is Head of Music at St. Laurence’s College, South Brisbane, a boys’ school with a strong community singing tradition and with six choirs (150 singers aged from 10 to 17). Anthony also directs the music and plays organ and piano in the Toowong parish and serves on the Brisbane Archdiocesan Commission on Liturgy. He has presented many music workshops for Liturgy Brisbane and has conducted the massed Catholic School choir for major cathedral events. Anthony’s awards, publications, membership of the Queensland music moderation panel and syllabus committee, and clinician work confirm his eminent professional standing.



Online and off line payment options
Major credit cards accepted

GPO Box 368
Canberra ACT 2601

1300 4FAITH (1300 432 484)
Catholic Enquiry Centre

Back to top